When I was a younger, I always said I would like to get to 26 and just stay there. 26 was actually a great year for me (it was the year I got married) – but hitting 30 was even better. I fortunately hadn’t dreaded it like everyone else and when I got there I realised something – age and experience is really worth something.

Funnily enough, I’m more eager to tell people my age (37) now than I was ten years ago. In your 30s people speak to you differently, there’s more respect and you feel like you have less to prove than before. Maybe that comes with the confidence that you also put out there; confidence that comes from finally having the vaguest idea about who you are and where you are going in life.

I finally feel like the person who looks back at me in the mirror has direction and the self assurance to pursue that direction. It’s a great feeling…roll on 40!
Txx

