When I was the age my daughter is now (8), and a bit older, I loved reading the whole Little House on the Prairie series and Anne of Green Gables. Talk of them ‘making eyes’ at boys and fashioning whole new lives out of thin air were a fascinating look at such simple lives back then. Even though my life was nothing like this (my dad certainly was not chopping down trees to make us a log cabin by hand), their lives and certain characters really resonated with me.

So imagine my delight when I saw these classics re-invented beautifully by Puffin – Anne of Green Gables, Huckleberry Finn, The Secret Garden (another absolute favourite), The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Wind in the Willows, The Call of the Wild, Peter Pan and Black Beauty. Lovely illustrations on each one, simple colour-coding and beautifully printed and bound, each book is a treasure. I envisioned building up a lovely collection for the kiddipops, reading them together cuddled up at bedtime.

“Eeuuwww”, was the response from the kiddipops, “I would never be interested in those!!” In one fail swoop, my dreams were shattered. In these days of Playstations, Nintendo DS’s, iPod Touches and endless tv programmes, our children are constantly over-stimulated to the extent where they find it hard, near impossible, to hanker after a simpler life. And it’s difficult to keep them away from all of this – you could raise them in a cocoon but as soon as they go to a friend’s house, for a playdate, party or sleepover, they are exposed to lots of other values and ways of living.

Maybe I can send her back in time to live with Laura and Mary on the prairie.
Txx

